Wednesday, 26 February 2020

LILAC GIRLS BY MARTHA HALL KELLY


CLICK ON IMAGE FOR FULL REVIEW







BOOK DESCRIPTION
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

VISIT HERE FOR ALL YOUR BABY PRODUCTS AND GAMES


Release date 


APRIL 5, 2016



MY REVIEW
Gripping, heart wrenching and painfully sad at times but something we should all know about. The Lilac Girls tells the story of 3 women during and after WW2. It is centred around the Ravensbrück women’s concentration camp in Germany and the experimental surgery that the Nazis carried out on a group of Polish women who became known as the ‘Ravensbrück Rabbits’. I found the first few chapters hard going but from about 15-20% in I was gripped. This is based on true events and also real people, which I realised half way through and knowing that made it even more gripping and probably more harrowing at times. I loved that we heard the different experiences and viewpoints of 3 different women - 1 of which was Herta - one of the German doctors responsible for the crimes. It was obviously horrendous and makes you feel so angry but it was very interesting. The others were Kasia, one of the ‘rabbits’, and Caroline who is an American actress and socialite who helps the ladies affected, after the war. Herta and Caroline are real people and Kasia is a character based on a real life ‘rabbit’. Don’t expect a light hearted read but don’t let that put you off as I haven’t felt so affected by a book in a long time.


No comments:

Post a comment

10 BEST WAYS TO CREATE A PROTAGONIST CHARACTER

10 BEST WAYS TO CREATE A PROTAGONIST CHARACTER One may wonder how an author can create a protagonist and give...