Wednesday, 5 February 2020


My review 

Bingmei watched her grandfather die and thirsts for vengeance against those who murdered him and his ensign. She can sense what people are really feeling, whether it’s love or disgust, and she can tell if a person is good, evil, or conflicted. She knows exactly what people keep hidden or what they don’t bother to hide. Because she’s different, she faces prejudice. Because she is a mercenary warrior, even though her master is honorable and kind, she has seen just how bad the world is.

Now she has people telling her that its her duty and privilege to sacrifice her life to save the world. What if she doesn’t think the world, with all its hate, prejudice, and deception, is worth saving?

Jeff Wheeler does his usual masterful worldbuilding, engaging all your senses with his imagery, and has a cast of characters that act upon that stage. Bingmei, our reluctant heroine, is relatable and shows signs of growth, as do other characters. As this is the first in a series, there’s time spent worldbuilding and constructing the backstory, and further growth and changes are hinted upon. Having read multiple series by Wheeler, I know the next books will further build upon this foundation, so it needs to be constructed in such a way that the rules of his universe are honored through the entire series.

Overall, a very enjoyable story that’s hard to put down. The downside to this book is that it is the first and we must wait for the next story. I’d knock off a star for Killing Fog pretty much ending on a cliffhanger, but since it’s the first of a series and that’s the way Jeff Wheeler is with his series, it’s business as usual for this author. Just not my favorite way for a book to not end. Very much looking forward to the next book, though. Awesome story and a great start to a new series by Wheeler, which is always worth celebrating.

Let Amazon donate to your favorite charity! Use Amazon Smile ( when you order and Amazon will donate to the charity of your choice when you make a qualifying purchase. Check out how Amazon Smile works at My shopping is donating to my favorite charity, Canines for Independence at no cost to me. Awesome!


Book description 
The Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Kingfountain series conjures an epic, adventurous world of ancient myth and magic as a young woman’s battle with infinite evil begins.
Survivor of a combat school, the orphaned Bingmei belongs to a band of mercenaries employed by a local ruler. Now the nobleman, and collector of rare artifacts, has entrusted Bingmei and the skilled team with a treacherous assignment: brave the wilderness’s dangers to retrieve the treasures of a lost palace buried in a glacier valley. But upsetting its tombs has a price.
Echion, emperor of the Grave Kingdom, ruler of darkness, Dragon of Night, has long been entombed. Now Bingmei has unwittingly awakened him and is answerable to a legendary prophecy. Destroying the dark lord before he reclaims the kingdoms of the living is her inherited mission. Killing Bingmei before she fulfills it is Echion’s.
Thrust unprepared into the role of savior, urged on by a renegade prince, and possessing a magic that is her destiny, Bingmei knows what she must do. But what must she risk to honor her ancestors? Bingmei’s fateful choice is one that neither her friends nor her enemies can foretell, as Echion’s dark war for control unfolds.

No comments:

Post a comment


10 BEST WAYS TO CREATE A PROTAGONIST CHARACTER One may wonder how an author can create a protagonist and give...